Thursday, May 23

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

About The Event

The Royal Oak Balmain - 36 College St
Balmain, NSW 2041 Australia
Thursday, March 9, 2023
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Dominic Smith in conversation with Caroline Baum

From the international bestselling author of The Last Painting of Sara de Vos comes a captivating and moving new novel.

Return to Valetto is a riveting journey into one family’s long-buried story; a page-turning excavation of the ruins of history and our commitment to justice in a fragile world. Fans of Amor Towles, Anthony Doerr and Jess Walter will love this deeply human and transporting testament to the possibility of love and understanding across gaps of all kinds – even time.

Join Smith at The Royal Oak Balmain on Thursday 9 March in conversation on the book with author, journalist and broadcaster, Caroline Baum. (Till then, read Baum’s profile on Smith published in 2016 in the Sydney Morning Herald.)

Attendees are asked to arrive at 6.30pm for a 7pm start. Seating is unallocated – another reason to arrive early to secure an optimal spot. Why not make a full evening of it, too, by booking a meal at the Royal Oak before or after the event? One of Balmain’s oldest and most loved pubs, it serves a delicious range of food and beverages.

Return to Valetto will be available for purchase at the venue through Roaring Stories, with book signings from Smith following the discussion.

If you miss out on a ticket, you can still watch the event as it is livestreamed from the Roaring Stories Facebook page (accessible on the Home page and from the Live tab). A recording will also be available to view later as an upload on the Roaring Stories YouTube channel.

Share: