Thursday, May 23

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

About The Event

The Royal Oak Balmain - 36 College St
Balmain, NSW 2041 Australia
Monday, August 7, 2023
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Kate Mildenhall in conversation with Anna Downes 

Propulsive, tender and engrossing, The Hummingbird Effect is feast for the heart as well as the mind and senses, and the latest from the acclaimed author of The Mother Fault. For fans of David Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas, Michelle de Kretser’s The Life to Come, and Jennifer Egan’s The Candy House, it confirms Kate Mildenhall as one of the most ambitious and dynamic writers in the country.

Join her on Monday 7 August at The Royal Oak as talks about the book with Anna Downes, the internationally bestselling author of The Safe Place.

Copies of The Hummingbird Effect will be available for purchase at the venue through Roaring Stories, with Mildenhall signing copies after the discussion.

Attendees are asked to arrive at 6.30pm for a 7pm start. Seating is unallocated – another reason to arrive early to secure an optimal spot. Why not make a full evening of it, too, by ordering a meal at the Royal Oak before or after the event? One of Balmain’s oldest and most loved pubs, it serves a delicious range of food and beverages.

If you miss out on a ticket, you can still watch the event as it is livestreamed from the Roaring Stories Facebook page (accessible on the Home page and from the Live tab). A recording will also be available to view later as an upload on the Roaring Stories YouTube channel.

Share: