Blog

blog

Give mum the gift of a great book – whether it’s a memoir, novel, cookbook or gardening guide. We offer free gift wrapping with a gold coin donation to the Indigenous Literacy Foundation, and stock beautiful cards, puzzles and a range of presents for every son or daughter’s budget.

Fiction

  • Gratitude by Delphine de Vigan – Delicately wrought and darkly gripping, Gratitude is about love, loss and redemption; about what we owe one another, and the redemptive power of showing thanks.
  • The Performance by Claire Thomas –  A tightly woven examination of women’s inner lives that is enthralling, profound and deeply human. Read bookseller Bronwyn’s review!
  • Transient Desires by Donna Leesh – The landmark thirtieth instalment of the bestselling Commissario Brunetti series. 
  • The Truth About Her by Jacqueline Maley – An absorbing, moving, ruefully tender, witty and wise novel of marriage, motherhood and the paths we navigate through both, for fans of Ann Patchett and Anne Tyler.
  • Common Ground by Naomi Ishiguro – From the acclaimed author of Escape Routes, a bittersweet story of coming-of-age in a divided world.
  • How Do You Live by Genzaburo Yoshino – A 1937 novel, translated now in English, which follows a 15 year old boy named Junichi Honda, nicknamed Koperu, and his uncle as the youth deals with spiritual growth, poverty, and the overall experience as human beings.

Nonfiction

  • World Travel by Anthony Bourdain – “Bourdain’s fans will devour this.” – Publisher’s Weekly
  • The Kindness Revolution* by Hugh Mackay – Eminent social psychologist Hugh Mackay helps us to find the best of ourselves in troubled times. Watch the author event recording. *Signed copies in store!
  • The Shape of Sound by Fiona Murphy – A revelatory memoir about being Deaf, ideal for fans of Fiona Wright and Bri Lee.
  • Heart Sick by Jessie Stephens – Three stories about love and loss, and what happens in between.
  • The Shortest History of China by Linda Jaivin – A pacy history of China that can be read in an afternoon, but will transform your perspective for a lifetime. Upcoming author event.
  • Reading Like an Australian Writer edited by Belinda Castle – Great Australian writers share the books that inspired them to pick up the pen. Upcoming book launch.

Biography & Memoir

  • Turns Out, I’m Fine by Judith Lucy – In her most candid and insightful book yet, Judith figures out what went wrong and then turns her attention to finding out what her life might look like if it went right. 
  • Sex, Lies and Question Time by Kate Ellis – Former MP Kate Ellis explores the good, the bad and the ugly of life as a woman in Australian politics. Read Ellis’ feature in the Guardian.
  • Reading the Seasons by Germaine Leece and Sonya Tsakalakis – Two friends and bibliotherapists share their reading journey. Watch our Q&A with Leece.
  • Monica Jones, Philip Larkin and Me by John Sutherland – A brave attempt to rescue the reputation of Larkin’s longstanding lover and muse. Read review.
  • Letters to Camondo by Edmund de Waal – a collection of imaginary letters from Edmund de Waal to Moise de Camondo, the banker and art collector who created a spectacular house in Paris and filled it with the greatest private collection of French eighteenth-century art. Read review.
  • It’s Not All Roses by Jenny Ferguson – A woman’s journey from being born in the NSW countryside in the 1940s through to professional life as a teacher, asserting her independence as a feminist, wife and mother, and travelling the world in search of inspiration in both restaurants and gardens.

Art & Home

  • Still Life by Amber Creswell Bell – A rich survey of the work of more than forty still-life artists, which presents the genre in a uniquely Australian light.
  • A Room of Her Own by Robyn Lea – Meet the creative women who are living life on their own terms in this stunning photographic survey of the most original homes and interiors.
  • Utsawa: Japanese Objects for Everyday Use by Kylie Johnson, Tiffany Johnson – Celebrate the beauty and ethos of Japanese ceramics and the handmade through this intimate exploration of the makers, markets and galleries of Japan.
  • She-Oak and Sunlight: Australian Impressionism by Anne Gray – New scholarship on the movement’s most celebrated figures, as well as many lesser-known artists.
  • The Mirror and the Palette by Jennifer Higgie – Spanning 500 years, a cross-section of women artists who embody the fact that there is more than one way to understand our planet, more than one way to live in it and more than one way to make art about it.
  • Spirit of the Garden by Trisha Dixon – A gorgeous book that explores the relationship that exists between ourselves, our gardens and the natural landscape.

Food & Wine

  • Australia: The Cookbook by Ross Dobson – A celebration of Australian cuisine like never before – 350 recipes showcasing the rich diversity of its landscapes and its people.
  • A Table by Rebekah Peppler – Voilà! At once a repertoire-building cookbook and a stylish guide to easy gathering over food and drink, À Table features 125 simple, elegant recipes that reflect a modern, multicultural French table.
  • Sumac: Recipes and Stories from Syria by Anas Atassi – “A remarkably generous book that wants you the reader to take pleasure in the food that means so much to him. And reading this book, I long, too, to savor those meals and those flavors.” – Nigella Lawson
  • Today’s Special by Phaidon Editors – Get to know 100 of the most exciting rising-star chefs from around the world, as selected by 20 culinary masters.
  • The Arabesque Table by Reem Kassis – A one-of-a-kind collection of original contemporary recipes from across the Arab world.

Gift Books

  • Hello, Mum by Polly Dunbar – Fantastically funny, wise and charming motherhood sketches from an award-winning illustrator. Dunbar captures highs and absurd lows that many parents will recognise – from the shock and awe of the baby days to the delight (and terror) of the toddler years and the mayhem of sibling rivalry. 
  • How to Fake Being Tidy by Fenella Souter – Funny true stories about the everyday dramas that can make or break friendships, cooking, housekeeping and the domestic chaos that always threatens to get the upper hand, written in the tradition of Nora Ephron.
  • The Shop Cats of Hong Kong by Marcel Heijnen – A charming look at cats in a range of quirky and atmospheric shops in Hong Kong. Meanwhile, their innermost thoughts, delivered deadpan, are revealed through Ian Row’s intuitive haiku and stories.
  • The Hill We Climb by Amanda Gorman – Amanda Gorman’s powerful and historic poem ‘The Hill We Climb,’ read at President Joe Biden’s inauguration, is now available as a collectible gift edition.
  • Magnum Dogs by Magnum Photos– a brilliantly diverse and entertaining selection of images that showcase man’s best friend, featuring some 180 photographs of dogs from across the world.
  • A Mother Is a House by Aurore Petit – A book which looks through the baby’s eyes for an unexpected and affecting picture of parents and home – shown through bright, contemporary illustrations and special inks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.