Top Picks - Children's Books

The Dragon and Her Boy

$15.99

A story of the very last living dragon, stuck living in a tunnel under London, and the boy who unintentionally finds himself as her protector, perfect for fans of The Girl of Ink & Stars

‘Never has gutter-life been more appealing. Penny Chrimes’ blisteringly descriptive writing draws the heat from the cobbles and the steam from the nostrils. A larruping good adventure’ – Zeb Soanes

A story of a the very last living dragon, stuck living in a tunnel under London, and the boy who unintentionally finds himself as her protector, perfect for fans of The Girl of Ink & Stars.

When Stick discovers there is a dragon living underneath the streets of London, he finds himself unintentionally drawn into an epic adventure and a quest — but how can he find a place for a dragon to live in London when dragons aren’t supposed to exist? And with foes at every corner who want to exploit the dragon for themselves, it’s going to take a daring plan for Stick to find a safe place for his dragon — and for himself.

Comparrotives

$15.99

From the creators of Hippopposites, Rhymoceros, and Llamaphones comes a new board book about comparatives.

In this oversize board book, young readers will learn about comparative adjectives via a very humorous parrot—from noisy and noisier, to messy and messier, to happy and happier when it finally finds a friend. As with the previous books in the series, Comparrotives features surprising touch-and-feel novelty elements throughout—making the comparatives concept easy and fun to learn.

Death Sets Sail

$16.99

The final novel in the number-one bestselling, award-winning Murder Most Unladylike series.

Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong are in Egypt, where they are taking a cruise along the Nile. They are hoping to see some ancient temples and a mummy or two; what they get, instead, is murder.

Also travelling on the SS Hatshepsut is a mysterious society called the Breath of Life: a group of genteel English ladies and gentlemen, who believe themselves to be reincarnations of the ancient pharaohs. Three days into the cruise their leader, Theodora Miller, is found dead in her cabin, stabbed during the night. It soon becomes clear to Daisy and Hazel that Theodora’s timid daughter Hephzibah, who is prone to sleepwalking, is being framed. And within the society, everyone has a reason to want Theodora dead…

Daisy and Hazel leap into action and begin to investigate their most difficult case yet. But there is danger all around, and only one of the Detective Society will make it home alive…

All’s Happy That Ends Happy

$16.99

The final book in the acclaimed and beloved chapter book series that celebrates Dani’s special ability to be happy and make others happy too

It is spring and Dani is going to Rome for her father’s wedding. But Ella is not invited; Dad said no. What will Ella think when she learns she hasn’t been invited to her best friend’s dad’s wedding? This is the final book about Dani and Ella’s friendship. The road between them has become longer and longer. They almost never meet. Will their friendship survive the distance?

Bindi

$16.99

Meet 11-year-old Bindi. She’s not really into maths but LOVES art class and playing hockey. Her absolute FAVOURITE thing is adventuring outside with friends or her horse, Nell.

A new year starts like normal—school, family, hockey, dancing. But this year hasn’t gone to plan! There’s a big art assignment, a drought, a broken wrist AND the biggest bushfires her town has ever seen!

Bindi is a verse novel for mid-upper primary students. Written ‘for those who plant trees’, Bindi explores climate, bushfires, and healing. Written from the point of view of 11-year-old, Bindi and her friends on Gundungurra Country.

Jonny Lambert’s Farm

$16.99

A fun-filled, lift-the-flap board book for little learners, all about life on the farm through the seasons

Adorable farm animals are having fun and busy farmers are working hard through the seasons in this gorgeous lift-the-flap book for babies and toddlers.Beautifully illustrated by Jonny Lambert, and with simple text to read aloud, this is a perfect first picture book to share with little ones.

Preschoolers will love joining in with the animal sounds, and lifting the flaps to discover what happens in a farm year – cows emerging from a barn after winter, lambs playing in spring, a tractor stacking hay bales in summer, and so much more! On the final pages, word labels name all the farm things, building children’s vocabulary.

The Golden Tower

$16.99

In her wildest dreams, Sophie never thought she might be kidnapped by a cat and taken to a world of flying horses and wonder – but also magic, mystery and danger!

Transported to the land of Tuscia, Sophie accidentally saves the daughter of a wealthy family and is swept along on their journey to the Golden Tower.

Now she is the only one standing between sisters Isabella and Bia and the terrible fate their stepmother has planned.

Sophie doesn’t think she is brave enough, but with the help of a talking cat, a stableboy and some very tiny mischief-makers, she might be able to save the day.

Elsewhere Girls

$16.99

It’s midnight and I’m alone in the kitchen eating a cold potato scallop. Coach O’Call would say something like, ‘That’s not what I expect from a scholarship girl!’ because I have to be up for squad training in five hours and I’m not supposed to go near potato scallops, and—oh, yeah—it’s my fifth.

Cat has recently started at a new school on a sports scholarship, and she’s feeling the pressure of early morning training sessions and the need for total commitment. Fanny loves to swim and she lives for racing, but family chores and low expectations for girls make it very hard for her to fit in even the occasional training session.

Cat and Fanny have never met. They both live in the same Sydney suburb, but in different worlds, or at least different times: Cat in current-day Sydney, and Fanny in 1908. But one day, time slips and they swap places.

As each girl lives the other’s life, with all the challenges and confusion it presents, she comes to appreciate and understand herself and the role of swimming in her own life.

Narrated in alternating chapters by Cat and Fanny, Elsewhere Girls is a moving and funny story of two girls with a deep connection, one based on the Australian Olympic champion, Fanny Durack. It’s a fresh and engaging exploration of the challenges and pressures for young women growing up in the past and today.

Kate in Waiting

$16.99

From the author of Love, Simon (Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda) bestselling YA rom-com queen Becky Albertalli, comes a new novel about daring to step out of the shadows and into the spotlight in love, life and, yes, theatre.

Contrary to popular belief, best friends Kate and Anderson are not codependent. Carpooling to and from theatre rehearsals? Environmentally sound and efficient. Consulting each other on every single life decision? Basic good judgment. Pining for the same guys from afar? Shared crushes are more fun anyway.

But when Kate and Andy’s latest long-distance crush shows up at their school, everything goes off-script. Matt is talented and sweet, and Kate likes him. She really likes him. The only problem? So does Anderson.

Turns out, communal crushes aren’t so fun when real feelings are involved. This one might even bring the curtains down on Kate and Anderson’s friendship.

1 2 3 6