Top Picks - Children's Books

The Biscuit Maker

$25.99

In Mavin Road, there’s no time for hellos or chats until a lonely and mysterious biscuit maker’s magic brings everyone together.

Benedict Stanley lives alone with his cat in Mavin Road where families hustle, joggers puff and workers scurry to the train, and no one has time for anyone else. So Benedict begins making biscuits to mark moments in all their lives, leaving them secretly at their doors. People start talking. Who is this mysterious biscuit maker? When Benedict falls ill, young Rory, the only person to know his secret, gathers the residents of Mavin Road and brings them to his door. A beautiful heart-warming book that celebrates community and human connection.

Story Doctors

$24.99

This is a book for everybody. Welcome! Take a seat! And listen carefully, because this story has a heartbeat. Can you feel it, there in your chest?

Legendary storyteller Boori Monty Pryor invites us to travel with him from the first footsteps through 80,000+ years of strength, sickness, and immense possibility.

From the very first stories and art, to dance, language, and connection with the land, Boori offers a powerful, beautiful, and deeply rich account of Australia’s true history, drawing on a lifetime of wisdom, and on his generous instinct to teach and heal.

An exquisitely illustrated celebration of the power of storytelling to unite us, how nature connects us, and the wonderful truth that the medicine needed for healing lies within us all.

The Prison Healer

$24.99

From bestselling Australian author Lynette Noni comes a dark, thrilling YA fantasy perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Sabaa Tahir.

Here at Zalindov, the only person you can trust is yourself.

Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years fighting for survival in the notorious death prison, Zalindov, working as the prison healer.

When the Rebel Queen is captured, Kiva is charged with keeping the terminally ill woman alive long enough for her to undergo the Trial by Ordeal: a series of elemental challenges against the torments of air, fire, water and earth, assigned to only the most dangerous of criminals.

Then a coded message from Kiva’s family arrives, containing a single order: Don’t let her die. We are coming. Aware that the Trials will kill the sickly queen, Kiva risks her own life to volunteer in her place. If she succeeds, both she and the queen will be granted their freedom.

But no one has ever survived.

With an incurable plague sweeping Zalindov, a mysterious new inmate fighting for Kiva’s heart, and a prison rebellion brewing, Kiva can’t escape the terrible feeling that her trials have only just begun.

About a Song

$24.99

A father and son embark on a journey across the city but as they get on the train and plug in the music, do they really know where they will end up? Where will the music take them?

Hop on board and take a musical ride through the city and into outer space, to the beach and to the stadium, the protest and the parlour of an elderly couple with their grand piano.

What does music make your feel? What is your favourite song? And what can it inspire you to do?

Hello and Welcome

$24.99

Feel the welcome as we celebrate Indigenous culture, Elders and future generations. Join the corroboree in the traditional Gamilaraay language of the Kamilaroi people as we listen and learn together.

A wonderful companion to Gregg Dreise’s highly acclaimed My Culture and Me, this joyful picture book celebrates Australia’s Indigenous heritage and the diversity we enjoy today.

Hello and welcome to our corroboree.
Hello and welcome to our gathering.
Father Sky, Mother Earth, together here with me.
Different colours, different people, together in harmony.

Lead The Way

$24.99

Lead the Way is your ultimate guide to activism and making systematic change, your way. Jean Hinchliffe is one of the key organisers of School Strikes 4 Climate, and in this book she shares her tools, stories and learnings from the movement with you.

From identifying your cause to finding allies, planning a march, nailing your messaging, public speaking and working with the media, to the importance of self-care when you’re on your activist journey, Lead the Way will guide you to start changing the world today.

Teenagers are leading the way towards a better future and you can too.

Iceberg

$24.99

An iceberg is born into spring and travels through the seasons before dying in a new spring. A stunning, lyrical story for our times, from renowned picture book creators Claire Saxby and Jess Racklyeft.

In the final freeze of an Antarctic winter, green tails wave across a star-full sky, as if to farewell endless nights. If this world looks empty, look closer … Penguins trek across the ice to their winter homes. As the temperature warms, birds fly above on their long migrations. And with the advent of summer, beneath an iceberg, the sea is teeming with life. Ocean, sky, snow and ice – minute greens and giant blues – dance a delicate dance in this evocative portrayal of the life cycle of an iceberg.

Red Stars

$24.99

THE COUNTRY IS UNDER ATTACK
Twins Viktor and Nadya are twelve years old when Hitler’s Germany declares war on the Soviet Union. As the Nazi army crushes the defending forces and enemy planes appear overhead, they are hurriedly evacuated from their home.

‘WHATEVER HAPPENS, STAY TOGETHER’
Their parents told them to look after each other, no matter what. But amid the chaos of the evacuation, disaster strikes – the twins are separated, stranded many miles apart with no way of communicating.

A DESPERATE RACE ACROSS SNOW AND ICE
Despite the war raging all around, Viktor and Nadya are determined to find each other and get back home. Can they pick a path through the danger and destruction, with only their courage and love to keep them going?

Sing Me the Summer

$24.99

Splash into summer with this glorious love letter to the seasons. Combining Jane Godwin’s sparkling text and Alison Lester’s whimsical watercolours, Sing Me the Summer celebrates those precious everyday moments that stay with us forever.

1 2 3 4 9