Enid

From the bestselling author of Sheila comes the story of a bewitching Australian socialite who fascinated the world.

Enid Lindeman stood almost six feet tall, with silver hair and flashing turquoise eyes. The girl from Strathfield in Sydney stopped traffic in Manhattan, silenced gamblers in Monte Carlo and dared walk a pet cheetah on a diamond collar through Hyde Park in London.

In early twentieth-century society, when women were expected to be demure and obedient, the granddaughter of Hunter Valley wine pioneer Henry Lindeman waltzed through life to the beat of her own drum. She drove an ambulance in World War I and hid escaped Allied airmen behind enemy lines in World War II, played bridge with Somerset Maugham and entertained Hollywood royalty in the world’s most expensive private home on the Riviera, allegedly paid for by her winnings in a game of cards.

Enid captivated men with her beauty, outlived four husbands-two shipping magnates, a war hero and a larger-than-life Irish earl-spent two great fortunes and earned the nickname ‘Lady Killmore’. From Sydney to New York, London to Paris and Cairo to Kenya, Robert Wainwright tells the fascinating story of a life lived large on the world stage.

There’s No Such Thing as an Easy Job

A woman walks into an employment agency and requests a job that requires no reading, no writing – and ideally, very little thinking.

She is sent to an office building where she is tasked with watching the hidden-camera feed of an author suspected of storing contraband goods. But observing someone for hours on end isn’t so easy. How will she stay awake? When can she take delivery of her favourite brand of tea? And, perhaps more importantly – how did she find herself in this situation in the first place?

As she moves from job to job, writing bus adverts for shops that mysteriously disappear, and composing advice for rice cracker wrappers that generate thousands of devoted followers, it becomes increasingly apparent that she’s not searching for the easiest job at all, but something altogether more meaningful…

Why can’t horses burp?

Why do horses wear shoes? How do horses ‘speak’? And why can’t horses burp? Answering twenty curious questions about the equine species, this book is a charming blend of zoology, history and popular culture that celebrates why horses have been such beloved companions for centuries. Featuring a myriad of different horse breeds, readers will discover what’s so unique about a horse’s body and its behaviour, and why they deserve to be well cared for.

The Daddy Animal Book

$9.99

Did you know that a daddy gorilla is called a silverback and a baby gorilla is called an infant? Or that a daddy turkey is called a gobbler and a baby turkey is called a poult?

The Daddy Animal Book is an adorable and informative picture book about baby animals and their dads that is perfect for Father’s Day, from the author of the CBCA Notable The Baby Animal Book and the bestselling 101 Collective Nouns.

REVIEW
“For those interested in words, and especially those with children who have an enquiring mind and a thirst for knowledge, any book by Tasmanian author and artist Jennifer Cossins is ideal.” – Kids’ Book Review

Where’s Mrs Tiger?

$12.99

Bold new jungle title in this best-selling novelty series!

The original, award-winning Felt Flap series – perfect for babies and toddlers! Each title in this stylish series has five spreads with friendly characters to find behind colourful felt flaps.

In Where’s Mrs Tiger?, you’re on the look out for Mr Peacock, Mrs Monkey, Mr Elephant and Mrs Tiger herself!Lift the final flap and there’s a surprise mirror – always a hit with the little ones.Parents adore these books because they are beautiful but tough enough to withstand even the most enthusiastic of young readers. And children love them because they are just so much fun.

Other titles in the series include, Felt Flaps Where’s Mr Lion?, Felt Flaps Where’s Mr Unicorn? and Felt Flaps Where’s Mrs Ladybird? Felt Flaps Where’s Mr Lion? won Sainsbury’s Children’s Book of the Year 2017

The felt flaps in this sturdy board board are perfect for little ones to turn and tug, which means you can get even the tiniest tot into books and finding the activity fun. Ingela Arrhenius’ illustrations are a real bonus. They are bright and retro and sure to capture your baby’s attention. A perfect book to share with very little ones.

The Battle of Book Week

$14.99

Alice Toolie – seriously famous Youtootuber – and her best enemy Jimmy Cook are back to fight another day in a whole new chapter of adventures from the CBCA award-winning writers of the Captain Jimmy Cook Discovers series.


Book Week is always the best week of the year! But when Alice Toolie and Jimmy Cook get involved, it’s set for disaster. From kooky costume ideas to accidental author visits, nothing is safe. It’s no wonder they’ve been fired as Library Monitors! The only way they’ll get their jobs back is by winning First Prize in the book parade. And that means working together. Can these two best frenemies leave their differences behind long enough to win the Battle of Book Week?

Toffle Towers 3: Order in the Court

$14.99

The adventures at Toffle Towers hotel continue as the manager – 10-year-old Chegwin Toffle – battles with blizzards, rioting guests and hostile takeover attempts!

Join Chegwin Toffle for more fun and frolics as Toffle Towers gets snowed in. Amid the snowball fights, things start to go wrong when guests’ precious belongings go missing and Brontessa Braxton launches yet another assault to take over the hotel.

Will Chegwin catch the culprit? Will he be able to beat Brontessa in court to save his beloved hotel and staff? And will he ever find the missing room 50 and the hotel’s mystery guest?

My Life As a Cat

$14.99

A wise, funny and moving story of what it means to find a family, from the best-selling author of I, Cosmo.

Leonard has never had a name. Or a body. Or a best friend. But he is excited to try being a human.

On their three-hundredth-birthday, every alien from Leonard’s home galaxy gets to spend a month in the body of an Earth Creature. Leonard was supposed to become a forest ranger in Yellowstone National Park – but there was a mix-up. And now he’s stuck as a stray cat.

Luckily for Leonard, he meets a young human called Olive – and together they set out on a journey to find home.

The Thirteenth Fairy

$14.99

The Thirteenth Fairy is the first title in Never After, an exciting contemporary fantasy adventure series for readers of 9 to 11 by Melissa de la Cruz, the bestselling author of Disney’s Descendants series. Perfect for fans of Disney’s Twisted Tales.

Nothing exciting ever happens in Filomena Jefferson-Cho’s small town. Until the day Jack Stalker, one of the heroes from her all-time favourite books, the Never After series, turns up. She must be dreaming!

But Jack insists that he’s real, the stories are real, and she must come with him at once. Filomena is thrust into a world of fairies, sorcerers, dragons and slayers, where an evil queen is determined to wipe out the fairy tribes. To save the kingdom, Filomena and her new friends must find the truth behind the tale of the Thirteenth Fairy before it’s too late.

1 2 60